• Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $6 USD  or more




After roughly a year of writing music together, Matt Madsen and Chris Beckstrand brought on more friends to fill out a band - Dan Swinyard on bass, Alan Markham on keys, Stephen Jensen on saxophone, and Ryan Wallace on drums. The band played together in Sandy, UT regularly, with other members of the band filling in for various other groups throughout Salt Lake City.

When the band would get together there was a lot of improvising, each player listening for changes they could move on, watching for parts to quiet down and then burst through. Some of these sessions seemed psychedelic with Al's Moogerfooger delay spinning out of control, all were great fun. Some sessions prompted new songs to be written. Mostly the songwriting was done by Matt Madsen and Chris Beckstrand. Matt would take an idea and write a chord progression which conveyed the emotion behind the idea. Then Chris would add to the structure and add melodic lines with guitar. Matt would then listen to that much of it for a while until lyrics started to form, and they usually came pretty fast. Everyone in the band contributed to the songs in some way or another, creating lines for their own instruments or changes for the direction of the song. Special credit to Zane Williams for co-writing the lyrics to The Garden. All lyrics written in original draft by Matt Madsen, then added to by the committee of LaC.

Through October and November 2012 LaC worked with Tyler Steadman of Venus Sound to finish The EP. The band plans on a future of writing and performing together.


released December 5, 2012

Produced, Engineered, Mixed and Mastered by Tyler Steadman at Venus Sound.
Laughing At Columbus:

Matt Madsen - Vocals and Rhythm Guitar
Chris Beckstrand - Lead and Rhythm Guitar
Dan Swinyard - Bass
Stephen Jensen - Sax & Backing Vocals
Ryan Wallace - Drums
Alan Markham - keys
Tyler Steadman - keys



all rights reserved


Laughing at Columbus Salt Lake City, Utah

Matt Madsen - Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
Chris Beckstrand - Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals
Stephen Jensen - Alto Saxophone, Backing Vocals
Alan Markham - Nord Electro 3, Moogerfoogers
Dan Swinyard - Bass
Ryan Wallace - Drums, Percussion

All songs written and performed by LaC. Produced by Tyler Steadman.
... more

contact / help

Contact Laughing at Columbus

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code